2018 ITC Truman Picard Scholarship

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2018 Picard Scholarship Announcement

Scholarship Announcement

For Native American/Alaskan Natural Resource Students

Deadline: Wednesday, February 7, 2018, 5:00 p.m. PST

Award: $2,500 for college students (number of awards varies per year)

$2,500 for grad students and graduating college seniors that are applying/accepted for grad school

$2,000 for graduating senior high school students

Purpose: The Truman D. Picard Scholarship Program is dedicated to the support of Native American students pursuing a

higher education in Natural Resources.

Required Materials: The Education Selection Committee will review and rank only those applicants who completely address each

area. Please be specific. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

1. Letter of Application: The letter must include your name, permanent mailing address, email address if available, and

phone number. It should be a maximum of two pages in length, and discuss the following:

a. Interest in natural resources.

b. Commitment to education, community and your culture.

c. Financial need. Students MUST complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and attach the

Student Aid Report or have the report sent to the ITC office. If it has not been completed, send last year’s report.

2. Resume

3. Three signed letters of reference, on letterhead and dated within the last six months.

4. Evidence of validated enrollment in a federally recognized tribe or Alaska Native Corporation, as established by the U. S.

Government. A photocopy of your enrollment card, front and back, or Certificate of Indian Blood (CIB) will suffice.

5. Transcripts: ALL students must include transcripts.

High school students must also provide documented proof of acceptance to an institution of higher education and a review of

college class schedule to verify major before a check is released.

‐ College students must also provide proof of their declared major.

6. Delivery of application, two steps:

Submit via fax (503‐282‐1274) or e‐mail ( up until the close of business (5:00 p.m. PST) February 7, 2018,

AND mail the originals to be postmarked by February 7, 2018. Be sure to check your local post office hours.

Inquiries and applications should be directed to the Intertribal Timber Council office:



1112 N.E. 21st Avenue, Suite 4

Portland, Oregon 97232‐2114

(503) 282‐4296 phone

The Intertribal Timber Council (ITC) has cooperative financial aid agreements with the University of Washington, Oregon State University, Salish Kootenai College,

Northern Arizona University and Yale University. Recipients of the ITC Truman Picard Scholarship are eligible to receive additional scholarships including tuition

waivers, if attending one of these colleges. For more information, visit the ITC website or contact the colleges directly.

TRUMAN D. PICARD (19461986)

To honor Truman D. Picard the Intertribal Timber Council (ITC) established a scholarship program in his name. Truman served on the ITC Board of Directors from 1982 to 1985. While

working for the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Colville Agency (Nespelem, Washington), in presales he attended the Forest Engineering Institute at Oregon State University becoming one of the

first people from the agency to complete this program. In 1977, Truman transferred to the Colville Tribal Forestry organization taking a position as Supervisory Forest Technician in charge of

woods operations. Later he was promoted to Assistant Supervisor of Forestry Operations.

Because of his drive and determination to complete his education Truman returned to Oregon State University earning a Bachelor of Science Degree in Forest Management. Upon his return

from college, he was appointed Director of Colville Tribal Forestry. His work for the Tribe will always be remembered by his individual efforts to bring BIA Forestry and Colville Tribal Forestry

together in a joint effort to improve the level of Forest Management on the reservation – truly a lasting legacy.

Intertribal Timber Council BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President Philip Rigdon, Yakama Nation; Vice President Vernon Stearns, Jr., Spokane Indian Tribe; Secretary Clarinda

Underwood, Quinault Indian Nation; Treasurer Timothy P. Miller, Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

BOARD MEMBERS: Carole Lankford, Confederated Salish & Kootenai Tribes; Jack Ferguson, Confederated Tribes of the

Colville Reservation; Charles Calica, Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, Kevin Lane, Hoopa Valley Tribe; Shannon

Wheeler, Nez Perce Tribe; Dee Randall, San Carlos Apache Tribe; Chaaiy Albert, Tanana Chiefs Conference

1112 N.E. 21st Avenue, Suite 4  Portland, OR 97232-2114  (503) 282-4296  FAX (503) 282-1274

E-mail: 